Vacation

On Tuesday, Aug 2nd I left Derek and Isaac home to go to the Shakespeare Festival in Cedar City with my friend Rae and four more of her friends.  She goes every year to see all six plays.  This is the second time I have gone with her and it was so fun.  We rented a three bedroom house close to campus and ate, went to plays and relaxed.  It was fun to make new friends and to enjoy a little “me” time.

I got home on Thursday in time to do laundry and start packing for our family vacation to California.  My family has been planning a trip to Yosemite and Mitch’s mission ever since he came home.  They rented a 15 passenger van that everyone rode in except us.  We wanted to spend some extra time with Kim, Josh and Sadie at Rye Patch Reservoir (between Winnemucca and Lovelock, NV) so we drove separately.

We left Friday morning and made it to Rye Patch around dinner time.  My family drove clear to Modesto.  Isaac was in the backseat screaming for the last 15 minutes of the drive so I’m glad we decided against going clear to Modesto in one day.  We spent a night with the Ivins and then drove the rest of the way to Modesto.  We spent two nights there so Mitch could spend time with mission friends.  We got to eat lunch at the taco truck (yum!) and went to church in one of Mitch’s old wards.

Next we camped two nights in Yosemite at the Wawona Campground.  It was beautiful.  We did a little bit of hiking and spent a lot of time cleaning the campground so the bears wouldn’t eat us and all our food.  🙂

At the end of our stay in Yosemite the 15 passenger van headed south to Fresno and on to St. George.  Derek, Isaac and I went back the way we came to spend a couple more nights at Rye Patch.  It was so much fun to spend time with our friends.  We visited them two years ago when Sadie was just a baby.  As a 4 month old she decided that Derek was her best friend and as a 2 year old she hasn’t changed.  She enjoyed teasing Derek and playing with him.  It was fun for her and Isaac to play together a little bit too.  Kim and Josh spoiled us with yummy food and gifts and a relaxing visit.  I wish we could live closer and see each other more.  Next time we see each other our babies will be almost 6 months old!  Crazy.  I am so glad we could see them this trip.  Thanks guys!  We miss you already.

We drove home Friday and only had to stop once!  Isaac was fantastic.  Now summer is pretty much over.  Derek starts school again in two short weeks (last semester!!! Wahoo!!).  We have a bathroom to finish before that.  While we were gone Derek’s mom and dad came to our house to work on our bathroom and in our yard for us.  We’re finally making progress thanks to them!  Thank you Mom and Dad!

I really enjoyed these past two weeks.  It was just what I needed to gear me up for the months ahead.

 

One thought on “Vacation

  1. Hi BriAnn,I just read your last post about the twins. I seriously cried. I don't know why it hit me that way. Elizabeth told me a while back when she found out, so it wasn't new news.But I want you to know what an enormous blessing twins are! It is hard. Especially with an older one. You will need to be humble and accept help… and learn to ask for the help you need, and know it's okay to be specific when people offer 🙂 They often don't know what would really help out.I wouldn't trade watching my twins wrestle and fight and kiss each other for the world. And their big brother is a more thoughtful, sensitive, wonderful boy for having them around. If you ever want to talk about schedules, gear, life, whatever… call me. Elizabeth can give you my number.I hope you're still feeling good. How lucky that you didn't feel too sick. Take care,Susanna (Elizabeth Ashdown's sister)

Leave a Reply

