Twins: Six Months

Everyone tells me the first year with twins is the hardest.  I don’t know if that’s true or not but we’re halfway through that first year!

The twins have learned a lot this month.  I look back on my post from last month and they seem to have changed so much in that short time.

We had some family pictures taken this month so I never got around to a photo shoot of my own but here are a couple of pictures of the boys and their cuteness.

New skills
Holding their own bottles (HALLELUJAH!!!)
Sitting up on their own
Eating solids: Rice cereal, carrots, peaches, pears, applesauce, sweet potatoes
Grabbing everything in sight
Making it through 3 hours of church (only like 2 times but this is a huge accomplishment for the whole family…)

Low point this month was discovering my pitiful milk supply was keeping them from growing.  😦
Carter is 11 pounds (11!!) 14.5 ounces (Remember last month I thought he was 13 pounds??)
Cooper is 11 pounds 7.5 ounces
It took awhile for me to figure out they weren’t growing because every nursing mom (that I know of) worries about whether or not their babies are getting enough to eat.  I did too.  Pretty normal.  And my babies are always happy so I assumed they were full after eating and that I was worrying over nothing.  Guess not.  Oops.

On the flip side, I have never seen such happy babies and I am so grateful to have them.  It makes my day to hear them laugh and see them smile all the time.  (Don’t worry they have plenty of hysterical crying bouts too…)  But their giggles keep me going and help me forget (mostly) the tiredness/craziness that kind of rules our house.

4 thoughts on “Twins: Six Months

  1. Oh, this is making me remember my babies at 6 months. I seriously thought we had hit a milestone getting to 6 months and they do learn to do so much that month!! yay for holding their own bottles! That is HUGE!!! Congrats mamma on that one for sure! They are just adorable! Oh, and I have a picture of Ellie eating Drew's arm too. How funny!

  2. Love these pictures & your thoughts! Yay for the twins! Yay for mom and dad! Yay for Isaac! (by the way… have I told you Otto is determined to name our #2 "Isaac"! He's even been telling our neighbors we're naming him that – haha) We love you guys!

  3. You're an amazing mom to be able to keep up with 3 babies at once. If I ever, for some reason, have twins, you are one of 3 friends I'm calling (: It seems everyone has twins these days. It makes me nervous. But they're so cute!

Leave a Reply

