A day in the life

I found this post in my drafts and read it recently and found it kind of amusing.  I also decided to write another post and post both of them together.  I hope you enjoy them as well.

February 2012
One thing I hear every time I leave the house is, “You have your hands full!”  Yup.  Thanks for noticing.  Another good one is, “So, how many kids DO you want?” 

The one that I want to respond to today is, “How do you do it?”  I want to record it for myself to look back on (and because sometimes I don’t even know how I do it) and for anyone else out there who cares.  So, here is a “typical” (ha ha ha) day for me and my boys.

7:00 am
I feed the twins while Derek is getting ready for the day.  On a good day I make us breakfast before Isaac gets up.  (Can I just say I LOVE being able to see my husband before he goes to work now that he has this new job?)  The twins are very happy and pleasant this time of day.  It’s prime time to play with them since Isaac is not awake out of bed yet. 😉
8:00 am
I get Isaac out of bed and Derek starts his long commute down the stairs.  The twins lay on the living room floor and coo while I get Isaac some breakfast.  He has been feeding himself lately so I usually change the babies, do the dishes or tidy up the kitchen a little while he eats.
8:30 am
The babies go back down for their first nap between 8:30 and 9:00.  I swaddle them and lie them down in their cribs.  On a good day, they go right to sleep.  On a not so good day, they cry themselves to sleep while I go back and forth between soothing them and cleaning up Isaac/table/kitchen from breakfast.  I also get Isaac changed and ready for the day at this point.
9:00 am
Isaac plays with his toys.  Sometimes we color.  Mostly Isaac empties the crayon box and fills it over and over again.  I’m assuming his artistic ability will kick in later.  Sometimes we make bread or clean up a room.
10:00 am
Snack time.
11:00 am
The babies are up again to eat.  Isaac wanders around and plays on a good day.  On a bad day he sits at my feet and whines or throws a tantrum the whole time I am nursing.
12:00 pm
Lunch time!  Isaac, Derek and I get to eat together.  I love this!
1:00 pm
Nap time!  I also love this.  All three boys go down for a couple of hours.  I get to shower, nap, clean, OR (not enough time to do all of these things) mess around on the internet depending on my level of cleanliness.
3:00 pm
More food and diaper changes.
4:00 pm
I usually start dinner about now.
5:00 pm
Derek is “home” from work and we eat dinner.

Leave a Reply

