Three Year Old Isaac

Three years ago today I became a momma.

That whole first day of motherhood, I was kind of in shock.  Isaac didn’t come when I planned on him coming.  I still had sub plans to write and a classroom to organize and a semester’s worth of play production to clean up.  But ready or not, he came.

It’s strange how quickly my world went from this:

Alice in Wonderland

to this:

Isaac Update

and this:

img_37841

and this:

IMG_5970

It’s even stranger to remember how drastic, yet natural and complete the transition was for me.  I had to go back to school to conduct one final choir concert so my poor substitute wouldn’t have to do it alone.  I remember before Isaac came, imagining how emotional that last concert would surely be.  Two weeks after Isaac was born (and while he was still in the NICU) when I actually went to lead my choirs for the last time, my heart just wasn’t in it.  It had already been stolen away by this sweet new face in my life.  I wasn’t as sad as I thought I would be to walk away from one life and begin another.

Pictures

Isaac has always been a very mellow kid.  (He takes after his daddy!)  That’s probably why he was in no hurry to leave the NICU, or learn to crawl, or walk, or eat.  He wasn’t SLOW at any of those things, just not in a hurry either.  He’s never been one to get really emotional about anything…until the last few months.  He’s getting into the “terrible threes,” which, let’s be honest, are way harder than the terrible twos.  Even so, his tantrums are pretty short-lived and he’s still a good-natured little guy.

Isaac is a great big brother.  He *mostly* includes “the brothers,” as he calls them, in his play.  He is taking on the bossy oldest child role really well.  He usually likes to control what everyone else is doing these days.  And when he can’t, one of his aforementioned-three-year-old tantrums occur.

IMG_6420

He loves to play soccer.  All of the time.  He likes to be the goal keeper so that he can pick up the ball and play keep away from “the brothers.”   He is obsessed with REAL Salt Lake.  He recognizes the logo.  He sings the song.  He watches the games.  (Did I mention who he takes after??)

2013-10-01 15.38.20

Isaac is an observer when he’s in a group of people.  He picks up on a lot even though he doesn’t say much.

He’s learning a lot of his alphabet in English and Spanish and can pretty much understand anything we say to him in Spanish.  He usually responds in English unless we ask him to repeat what he says in Spanish.  It’s been good to have neighbors that go to Spanish story time at the library and that can do a little Spanish preschool with us.

Isaac didn’t get to be in the spotlight for very long before “the brothers” came along.  He has never seemed to be resentful or jealous.  He is a good kid.  We are so glad to have him around.

Two WeeksFirstsTwins: Six MonthsIMG_6536

We love you Isaac! Happy Birthday!

IMG_6273

Leave a Reply

