Disneyland Trip: Day 5

The next day (up at the crack of dawn again) was our Magic Morning day. But, since Disneyland’s hours change daily, we were really in the park at the same time as we were the day before. I guess We did beat SOME of the crowd by having our Magic Morning passes. We rode Space Mountain and the Matterhorn right off the bat since the lines for these were short. The lady at Space Mountain told us about how you can cheat the system a little bit using stroller passes (officially called Rider Switch) and Fast Passes concurrently. I wish we would have known about this at California Adventure.

Fast Passes let you skip the long line at some of the popular rides, but you can only get one at a time (or every 90 minutes, whichever is shorter). So, for example, in California Adventure we got four Fast Passes for California Screamin’ (we used Isaac’s ticket plus our three) and then I waited with the kids while Derek and Mitch rode. Then Mitch stayed with the kids while Derek and I used the other two passes. We found out from the Space Mountain lady that we should only get TWO Fast Passes for any given ride and then ask for a stroller pass once we got to the front of the line. For example, we would get two Fast Passes for Space Mountain and two more for Indiana Jones during the same 90 min window. When it was time to return to the ride, Derek and I would ride Space Mountain, ask for a stroller pass and then Derek and Mitch would take the stroller pass and ride while I waited. Then we could head right over to Indiana Jones and do the same thing. We did this for Space Mountain, Indiana Jones, Matterhorn (no Fast Passes) and Star Tours.

This day was a little tough on the kids. Since we rode all of the grown up rides this day the boys did a lot of waiting and walking around. It was hard to go on rides with the boys while we were waiting since most rides only seat three. Plus, kids under 7 have to be seated with an adult. The train was a good one to ride with one adult and three kids, though. I think we rode it 3 or 4 times to stay entertained during wait times.

Watching the ducks while waiting for Daddy and Uncle Mitch (Apparently this was the only picture I took today.)

2014-02-11 11.34.46

The toddler-friendly rides we rode today were:

Enchanted Tiki Room

Tarzan’s Tree House: Derek and the boys did this while Mitch and I rode Indiana Jones.

Pirates of the Carribean: I had forgotten about the little drops. They aren’t really that big but in the dark, they made the twins a little nervous. Then the ride broke down while we were on it. It wasn’t awful but I don’t think this was the kids’ favorite.

*Autotopia (32″ limit): The boys LOVED this ride. The car I was driving kept stopping on the track so I didn’t love this one. If the line hadn’t been so long we would have gone on this one a few more times.

Buzz Lightyear Astro Blasters: Similar to Toy Story Mania in California Adventure. Instead of playing video games you shoot lasers at Zurg and all of his minions.

Astro Orbitor: Classic “rocket” ride similar to Dumbo. It made me sick.

*Jungle Cruise: We went on this twice. The boys liked going on the boat and seeing all of the animals.

My cousin Casey is living in California and going to nurse anesthetist school. His wife, Ashley, came to meet us late in the afternoon with her two boys to say hello. Derek and Mitch left for the Lakers/Jazz game soon after. It was nice to have someone to hang out with for awhile before dinner and it was so fun to see them!

2014-02-11 19.27.50

Go Jazz!

I realized after Derek and Mitch left that my credit card was back at the hotel. I had hoped to just eat dinner in the park to save myself some hassle. Instead, I packed all the boys, the stroller and our gear on the bus, back to the hotel and up to our room only to realize my credit card was in my pocket the whole time. Awesome. It wasn’t too bad, though. The boys had been well-behaved and happy the whole way so we headed out again to find dinner.

They boys were insisting on Mac N Cheese so we trekked four blocks down the road to Red Robin. I think the hostess and waitress thought I was crazy. They weren’t super helpful or empathetic to my situation, but so far, the kids were still doing really well. Pretty amazing considering they didn’t nap and it was almost two hours past their normal dinner time. I was happy and grateful.

Towards the end of the meal, things started to go south really fast. Isaac zonked out in his chair sitting up. I couldn’t get him to wake up so I held him on my lap so he wouldn’t fall to the ground. At the same time the twins started arguing (i.e. growling, squealing, hitting and yelling) about who was going to get to run next to the stroller on the way back (I only had a double). Yes, they both really did want to run and not ride. A kind lady at the table next to me offered to help. She got my stroller and helped me get the kids strapped in and out the door. Cooper and Carter were still wailing. Carter, because he was the unfortunate one to get put in the stroller, and Cooper because he was just plain exhausted.

The walk home was pretty comedic. Isaac was out cold in the stroller. Carter was trying escape from his seat belt and screaming bloody murder. Cooper, mad that I made him hold my hand across every busy road, was also sobbing as he ran next to the stroller. I was singing them songs and pointing out all of the buses, trucks, and colors I could along the way. We sure made a scene. All because I didn’t take two seconds to check my pockets for a credit card… Oh well. It makes for a good laugh. I wish I had a picture of it to post.

Needless to say, the boys went right to sleep the second they got in bed. So did I.

Leave a Reply

