Basement Remodel: Update

We hired Ryan from RC Drywall to come and hang the drywall the last week of April. They were great to work with and I’m happy with how it looks. I really wanted smooth walls and ceilings like we have everywhere else in the house but we saved some money (and time) by having them do a light “hand texture” on the wall and a “stamp texture” on the ceiling.

They finished on a Saturday which meant we couldn’t spend the whole day painting the office like we had hoped. Instead, Derek and Curtis installed our three new window wells and *mostly* filled the huge holes. We still have some finish work to do on them but at least there are no giant pits of despair in our yard for small animals and children to fall into.

The next Monday we primed the office, Tuesday we painted, Wednesday we did trim and Thursday we did finish work. The carpet installers came Friday morning to put a remnant in the office that we had been using in the den.  Friday afternoon I rented a carpet cleaner from Home Depot, used and returned it just in time to run off to my choir concert that night. Busy week.

2014-05-09 12.36.53

We used Benjamin Moore Aura paint. So. Amazing. We did one coat on each wall and we were done! It was worth paying the extra money for the high end paint. We tried to save money by using a mid to low grade paint upstairs but we ended up having to paint everything 2-3 times. So annoying. The girl at the hardware store told me after using Aura I wouldn’t be able to go back to anything else. I think she’s right. I’m hooked.

The office colors are Benjamin Moore: Old Navy, Wedding Veil and Annapolis Gray.

We got Derek’s desk and computers moved back in on Saturday and I bought these awesome chairs on KSL.

2014-05-14 22.15.20

Oh and I LOVE having my hubby working from home again. I feel much lighter and happier again. The last two months have helped me to appreciate how truly spoiled blessed I am. You wouldn’t think a 15 minute commute would make such a big difference but it does. We have so much more TIME together when he’s here. When he’s home, we get a whole extra hour at lunch with him, plus all of the water breaks he takes during the day. When he was driving to work, sometimes I only saw him a total of an hour a day. He’s not allowed to get a “real” job ever again.

Leave a Reply

